About Rock Island County

With the Mighty Mississippi River to the north and west and the Rock River flowing through the center, Rock Island County offers a varied landscape ranging from rich agricultural fields to rolling bluffs. With low housing costs, exceptional health care, quality schools and a wide range of recreational activities and tourist attractions, it's no wonder Rock Island County is home to nearly 150,000 residents and thousands of visitors each year.

Rock Island County is part of the Quad Cities Metropolitan Area of approximately 360,000 residents, nestled along the Mississippi River on the Illinois/Iowa border between Chicago and Des Moines. The area is served by interstates I-80, I-88, I-74, I-280, several major state highways and the Quad City International Airport.


On February 9, 1831 the Illinois General Assembly established Rock Island County and defined its boundaries. In 1833 early pioneers approved formation of a county government with the first county election held on July 5th of that year. In 1856 petitions were submitted to the County Board requesting the formation of townships during the next election in November. In this election Col. George Davenport, John W. Spencer and George W. Harlan were the first County Commissioners elected along with Benjamin Axe being chosen first Sheriff and Levi Wells first County Coroner. This township form of government is still in existence after nearly 150 years.

Several cities and villages with varying populations are located in Rock Island County.


Village of Andalusia 1,178
Village of Carbon Cliff2,134
Village of Coal Valley
Village of Cordova
City of East Moline
Village of Hampton
Village of Hillsdale523
Village of Milan
City of Moline
Village of Oak Grove    607
Village of Port Byron1,647
Village of Rapids City
Village of Reynolds539
City of Rock Island (County Seat)39,018
City of Silvis7,479
Unincorporated Rock Island County24,990

Population data is based on 2010 Census Bureau Statistics.