Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
If you have difficulty voting your ballot, you may request assistance from a friend, family member or Election Judges in your vote center. Both the voter and the individual(s) providing assistance must sign a legal affidavit. Contact the County Clerk's Office at 309-786-VOTE or 309-786-8683 for details.
Show All Answers
Voting instructions are posted in each voting booth on election day. Also, an Election Judge will offer you a demonstration.
Write-in votes will count only for candidates who have filed a declaration of intent to be a write-in candidate as required. The last day to file a declaration of intent to be a write-in candidate is 61 days prior to the election.
Your ballot may differ from your neighbors because precinct boundaries and units of government may not necessarily coincide. Ballot styles are specific to those candidates and issues for which you are entitled to vote.
Illinois law no longer requires a reason for voting absentee. Voters who wish to vote absentee must submit an absentee ballot application no later than five days before an election. Download and print an absentee ballot application (PDF) or you may call 309-786-VOTE, 309-786-8683 or 309-558-3571 to receive an absentee ballot application in the mail or to request curbside voting.
If you make a mistake while voting your ballot, ask an Election Judge for a new ballot. If voting an absentee ballot, call 309-786-8683 or 309-558-3571 to request another ballot be sent.
This law allows any person to vote early during the 15th through the 3rd day preceding an election. Any voter may cast a ballot during this 13-day period, needs no excuse or reason, but must show a valid government ID, unlike the requirements for absentee voting. The law prohibits a person who voted during the early voting period from voting again on election day, and a list of all early voters will be provided to the judges of election prior to the opening of the polls.
Voter Registration closes 28 days prior to election day but with new legislation there is now “Grace Period” Registration/Voting. This option extends registration from the 27th through the 3rd day before the election. This “Grace Period” allows a new voter to register to vote, or to update their registration information during this 25-day period at the County Clerk’s Office only and once the voter has registered or updated their registration they must cast their ballot at that time. “Grace Period” Persons voting early do not get to cancel their ballot and vote at the polls on election day.
Registered voters in Illinois who are unable to vote in-person at the polling place or voting center on Election Day. Download the Application for Absentee ballot (PDF). Does not require a reason or ID.
You must submit an application for an absentee ballot (Download the Application for an Absentee ballot [PDF]):